James Tait Black Prize for Drama 2019: The Award Ceremony

University of Edinburgh in association with Playwrights’ Studio, Scotland and Traverse Theatre
Choose dates & Book


Join today’s most innovative playwrights for an afternoon of performed readings and interviews with presenter Shereen Nanjiani.

The James Tait Black Prize for Drama celebrates ground-breaking drama produced worldwide in the last year. The £10,000 prize is awarded to the play that most clearly demonstrates an original voice and makes a significant contribution to the art form.

During the ceremony, extracts from the shortlisted plays will be performed and thought-provoking discussions held with the playwrights about their work before the winner of the esteemed prize is revealed.

Previous winners: Lions and Tigers by Tanika Gupta; Cyprus Avenue by David Ireland; Iphigenia In Splott by Gary Owen; Tomorrow Come Today by Gordon Dahlquist; Cannibals by Rory Mullarkey; and The Radicalisation of Bradley Manning by Tim Price.

The James Tait Black Prizes are part of Britain’s oldest book prizes – which were founded in 1919 – and awarded by the oldest centre for English Literature in the world at the University of Edinburgh.

This year's shortlisted plays are:

  • Dance Nation by Clare Barron (Almeida Theatre)
  • Richard III Redux [or] Sara Beer [is/not] Richard III by Kaite O’Reilly with Phillip B Zarrilli (The Llanarth Group)
  • Slave Play by Jeremy O. Harris (New York Theatre Workshop)

Choose Dates and Book