THE POPCORN WRITING AWARD 2021

Set up in 2019 by Popcorn Group, the Popcorn Writing Award celebrates fearless work which playfully and artistically questions and addresses current affairs, societal trends and contributes positively to public debate.

The award champions brave and imaginative writing at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. It is the only award of its kind, awarding a prize fund of £6,000 and a guaranteed slot at one of the partnering venues. Popcorn partners with Assembly, Gilded Balloon, Pleasance, Summerhall, Traverse and the Underbelly.

Each year Popcorn puts together a committee which select the winners from our shortlist to award the prizes. Due to the uncertainty surrounding this year's Edinburgh Festival, the award shall work slightly differently for 2021.

HOW IT WORKS

SUBMISSIONS OPEN: 26TH APRIL 2021 SUBMISSIONS CLOSE: 10AM, 28TH JUNE 2021

ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

All plays submitted will be considered provided they are:

1) A new piece of writing (only been performed once before) 2) Written by a writer, or presented by a company, who have been programmed by one of the above venues at the fringe after and including Edinburgh Fringe 2015.

Please send your piece of new writing and a 50 word summary of your play to your respective venue with "Popcorn Writing Award 2021 // Title of Play // Writer's Name // Venue Associated" in the subject heading.

2019 COMMITTEE MEMBERS



Lena Headey Actor, Producer



Charlotte Colbert Francesca Moody Writer, Director



Penny Martin Editor-in-Chief



Producer



Tony Grisoni Writer



Director

Art Mallik

Actor



Enda Walsh Writer



Gareth Ellis-Unwin Producer





2020 COMMITTEE MEMBERS



Ruth Wilson Actor



Gonzalo Maza Screen Writer



Fatima Bhutto Columnist, Author

Jessica Mallik

Producer



Kerry Fox Actor



Anthony Alderson Director



Wunmi Mosaku Actor

Natalie Denton

Development Exec



Singer, Songwriter



Katie Pennick Activist

2019 FINALISTS



Claire Rammelkamp - A Womb of Ones Own



Jessica Ross - Drowning

2019 WINNER



Bryony Kimmings - I'm A Phoenix, Bitch

No.

"The Popcorn Award is special as it buys a writer or artist one of the most scarce and undervalued commodities... time."

2020 FINALISTS





Matilda Ibini - Little Miss Burden Chris Thompson - Burn

1. 1. 2. 2. 2.



Camilla Whitehill - Daddy

and the second second

2020 WINNER



Jennifer Lunn - Es and Flo

"It's an absolute honour to receive this award as we wait to be able to put the play on. A huge thanks to The Popcorn Group for choosing a story celebrating a diverse and intersectional group of women.

ZOOM EXTRACTS FOR THE 2020 FINALISTS

Due to the unprecedented challenges posed by the pandemic last year and the subsequent cancellation of the Edinburgh fringe, Popcorn Group produced 4 short extracts of the finalist plays for the 2020 award.

Across all viewing platforms, the extracts have amassed over 100,000 views over Instagram and Twitter and have been covered in the UK press and internationally, with particular coverage in the US.



- Es And Flo



Sharon D. Clarke - Es And Flo



Middleton

- Burn



- Burn

Rory Bremner - Daddy

Saida Ahmed - Little Miss Burden Burden





Michelle Tiwo - Little Miss Burden

